Fitness Wearables

Like many of you, I have followed the “Internet of Things” evolution over the last few years.  One of the big categories that has emerged from this is the explosion of wearable technology.  As a frequent walker / jogger, I like to track my steps and activities.  I have worn a fitbit device for a few years.  I first wore the fitbit one and then moved on to the fitbit flex.  I was wearing the fitbit flex and a pebble watch last year when Apple released the apple watch.  I wanted to combine the function of the two into a single device.  The apple watch seemed like a good option (although not crazy about the price).  So I swallowed hard and forked out the $350 for the device.  I have been wearing it now for just over 6 months.  I use it for notifications thus replacing the need for the pebble.  I use it for activity tracking so it replaces my fitbit flex.  I am just not “wowed” by the device – for $350 I was hoping for Wow!  It is an impressive device but I think it is still a work in progress.  I am sure many users think it is great.  I am also certain there are features that I have yet to tap.  I am a bit disappointed in the 1 day battery life so therefore no sleep tracking.  The interface to upload any of your data to track activity is just not very good.  I was a bit spoiled by the fitbit tracking and convergence features

Of course, since that time, there have been other devices on the market that do many of the same things.  One that has recently caught my attention is a competitor to the apple watch called the fitbit blaze.  It is set to be released later this year, but appears to do many of things that I want my apple watch to do – tracking, heart rate, messaging – but also has a battery that will last 5 days so it can track sleeping and will sync with your phone GPS for longer runs or rides.  It does not do phone calls, which that apple watch does.  I am sure there are several other differences.  The price point on this device will be around $200 and that will attract some buyers.  I look forward to hearing more about it in the coming weeks as well as other new “wearable” technology that might be coming out.

If you would like to read more about some of the new wearables – many just announced last week at the CES in Las Vegas – follow this link to a PC Magazine article by Timothy Torres.   Hopefully you will find that device that meets your particular habits and needs.

